swordmage: (Light In Hand)
Another year begins. As does proof that I have a journal or something.

Last year was for me, as it seems to have been for most of my friends, crazy. I started out by thinking I had a job that could become a career, and ended up parting ways with it, getting another job and deciding I may very well really enjoy that new one. Emotionally, it's also been an incredibly rough

This year, the plans are pretty simple. I'm going to finish my master's (though at this point what in all the hells I'm going to do with it is up in the air), and hopefully I'm going to get to keep my job. Going to slowly get back into the A&S groove, and generally be more social. Also, gods damn it, I'm going to get in better shape.

And now, it's late on a Wednesday night and the lines are dead, so I'm off to go and read a book.

Drifting

Sep. 8th, 2011 06:40 am
swordmage: (Lyra and Iorek)
Anyone who knows me knows that I go through phases, for lack of a better term where I'm really productive, and ones where I'm not.

Sadly, this seems to be a rather nasty slump.

I've got projects I need to work on - namely some sewing to do and a few scrolls to work on as well.

I'm thinking that starting to once more hit the gym (tomorrow morning) will really help. At least, it better.


On the bright side, PAX was awesome. We're planning on hitting East as well, but considering that Estrella is the week before, that will likely prove interesting. Not sure how it's going to work, but we'll figure out a way.

Gods help me as well, but I'm really enjoying my job. I know that in many cases, phone tech support is considered pretty lowly, but Apple treats me well and I'm happy there. No idea where it's going to end up (or even if it *is*), but as a dear friend of mine pointed out the other night 'so long as you're happy'.
swordmage: (Default)
I know, I know, I've been quiet lately. Actually this is a good thing. It seems as if everything overall is going well, and I'm glad of it. At work, I'm down to 20 hours a week, and while it means I've got more time to work on projects, it also means that I'm going to start climbing the walls very soon because I'm so used to doing things.

Granted, this could also be a very good thing. I'm thinking once I fall into a routine and such, I'm going to start working on all the projects I've been intending on. I have a ton of linen and I really want to make some new clothing for both of us. Not to mention I've got the supplies for a new headboard, so I intend on making that as well.

Today, though, I'm just relaxing. We've got a landscaping crew over doing work, and that's awesome. Yes, we could very easily do the work in the yard ourselves, but we've both come to the conclusion it's far easier to pay some professionals to do the work for us. A few hundred dollars later and we're going to have a clean alleyway, backyard, and frontyard. This is perfect for me.


This week, I have only a few things I need to do:
-Bake cookies for Cookie Brigade
-Clean spare bedroom for the awesome [livejournal.com profile] ickaimp when she housesits
-Fire charms and make earrings for PAX
-Make lanyards for badges


In other news, Roxy is reminding the landscaping crew that this is her house and she is a ferocious fuzzybutt. Now that I've spoken to them, she knows they're ok, but she's still going to bark once in awhile and remind them that she is the queen of the world here.

It's kind of adorable.
swordmage: (cast/plot)
I checked my posts and realized it's been over a month since I last posted anything. This is vaguely weird, though I'm not entirely sure why.

I've borked my left hand, which is also fun. Have no idea how but there's a part of me that's worried it may be the start of something like carpal tunnel. I'm in my mid-20s, I really shouldn't be thinking/worrying about anything like this. If it persists, I do believe my doctor will be getting a slightly frustrated call and I'm going to go in and have it looked at.

In better news, work goes swimmingly. *Really* swimmingly. I honestly feel like things are going well on that front, and I'm actually doing something useful. It's sometimes frustrating, but gods help me, I enjoy it. Maybe it's sort of in a perverse way, but I'm determined to make the absolute best of it that I can and see where things go from there. I'm hoping that it's all going to work out nicely. At least right now, it's working for me, all things considered, and I'm pretty sure I'm in a good place.

Now, if only the muses would return because I feel the need to *make* shit.


Let's see, what else is new. We acquired a new TV. Panel went on the plasma for the second time, and considering that it would cost more to fix than to replace, we opted to replace. So we've now got a slightly smaller LCD tv that was picked up at Best Buy for a reasonable price.

Ha! Still a bit pissed that it's happened, but now I can finish Dante's Inferno.
swordmage: (choose life)
There was rain, and it was lovely.


What was somewhat less lovely was the fact that I woke up not because of the thunder, but because Roxy decided that she was petrified and wanted to crawl into bed with us. Ryan made the mistake of lifting his head off the pillow, and she practically dove for it.

This meant that the rest of the night (morning?) was spent trying to convince her that the world wasn't going to end, and also that there was space for her between us that didn't involve taking up pillows and puppybutts in the face.


But now, it smells like rain, and all is good. Alright, it's not as much rain as I would like, and hopefully there will be more, but I'm not going to complain with what we've got.

Merely hope for more.

Sleep?

Jun. 27th, 2011 08:06 am
swordmage: (Light In Hand)
It's been an insane week. Work's been busy, mainly because we've been learning *so* much, and the tests have been getting progressively harder. Friday, at least, I managed to successfully pass the last test, and now it's all about how much I can impress them with my awesome customer service skills.

The weekend was nice and quiet. Didn't get everything that I was hoping to do done, but at the same time, can certainly live with how it turned out. In general, I feel pretty good about more things, and am trying to reach an equilibrium of sorts. The crafting/sewing/creating bug is starting to rear it's head, and I might as well look at appeasing it. This would not be a bad thing in the least. I have some costuming stuff I want to do, and hopefully before PAX, as well as jewelry stuff. At least the jewelry can wait until the kiln is in my hot little hands.

Of course, it's also been kind of rough on the personal front. Granted, Ryan and I have been doing swimmingly - we're actually fairly financially stable and we're not in a bad spot at all. However, that seems to be very much not the case for a number of friends. It seems that many I know are going through times where 'rough' may be an understatement. Honestly, I feel a teensy bit guilty in some respects.




In other, somewhat random news, I think the tattoo plans are somewhat altered. I've been saying cranes for a little while, but I recently realized that it may not actually be the best... fit. I'm currently looking at getting a half-sleeve of Ganesh. The remover of obstacles is fitting, I find that frequently, I choose to invoke him. I'm not sure why, exactly, but the idea of having one is sort of a talismanic thing.

Of course, then the question becomes style...
swordmage: (Ada Lovelace)
Plans this weekend:

-Belmont Stakes tomorrow
-attacking the laundry hydra with the proper equipment
-baking something for Sunday
-Canadian Grand Prix brunch on Sunday
-figure out a Mac101 thing for a friend
-working on some scrolls I've got lurking here


Overall, I think this shall be a very good weekend. Productive, but also very fun.

Baaaaa-us.

Jun. 3rd, 2011 07:29 am
swordmage: (Lyra and Iorek)
Post a comment, and I will reply with one or two reasons why I think you're great. In return, you have to post this same meme on your blog and comment for other people.
swordmage: (walking!piggy)
Had one of those lovely, kind of quiet, certainly lazy, weekends. It was very nice. There was some hanging out with friends as well, and that was very good. We tackled most of the errands that we needed to do,

I did realize, though, that I'm going to need to make sure that I get enough human interaction as things progress. Yes, I'm normally pretty much a loner, but that's not enough, as I've realized that without much outside interaction, I am in danger of loosing my filter. That tends to provoke... interesting results.

I think everything will end up working out rather well in the end, though. I've got a schedule I'm bound and determined to try and follow, and I'm confident that I'm going to be successful. Even though it's going to mean getting up at about 5 in the morning on an almost-daily basis. Meh, I can do that, I think.


And the work starts tomorrow. Woot!
swordmage: (chenrezig)
Well, the last week or so has been a combination of doing absolutely nothing (always fun!), and actual productivity of sorts. Kind of nice, actually.

I've actually also sat down and started working on the pair of bag trousers I promised Ryan *way* too long ago. Certainly going to need some work, but that's fine. I've got almost all the pleating finished (he wants them a little shorter) and will be finishing them this weekend.

I'm planning on my A&S entries for next year as well. Entering as Champion is *really* tempting, and I think I can get together a number of very good projects. I'm starting to collect articles, and seeing what I'm going to need for the projects. I'm very seriously considering picking up some imitation ivory, and then going to town on the stuff.

It briefly occurs to me that I may very well want to pick up an external *just* for research purposes.


Other than that, I'm doing well. Have most of the things I need to do completely sorted out, and otherwise, I'm generally feeling pretty good. Without a doubt, the fact that we've been eating better, and been hitting the gym with some regularity is helping quite a bit.



And now, I've got my copy of The Lost Fleet, and I'm working through it. Definitely feeling pretty good right now.

A&S

May. 14th, 2011 09:47 pm
swordmage: (devious willa)
Well, on a whim (or more accurately, having received a phone call with a random idea, and deciding to go along with it), I ended up entering a pair of pieces of writing in A&S.

Full disclosure - they were things I wrote several years ago for art history classes, and consequently, probably a bit different than what most were expecting. However, surprisingly, they ended up doing pretty well. (Even considering that they amounted for 2 of the 3 writing categories.) That said, I think I'll end up entering both of them in Kingdom - assuming I can't actually make it due to work, I'll just send Dom as he's utterly awesome and willing to do things like that.

Anyway, it's made me start thinking about my projects for next year. I fully intend on entering more things, and properly. I genuinely enjoy making stuff, but sadly, for many reasons, just haven't actually bothered to do much of it. I think that this year I'm going to make more of an effort, and in doing so, will try to save most of my sanity...


Today, at least, was a very good day. I got to see friends and hang out with them, and generally just have a good time. It was relaxing and most enjoyable, and I had a good time. It was overall pretty good to just be lazy. I had a number of very good conversations, and ended up plotting some very... devious things. If it all comes together, though, it should be awesome... in the worst possible way.

Now, while tempting to stay up longer, I think that I'm going to finish the new episode of Doctor Who and keel over. Sleep has a tendency to elude me, and I think I'm going to try for a full night of it.
swordmage: (Dice)
Stuff? Is more than a little ok right now.


And I am overall rather happy, I think.
swordmage: (Ada Lovelace)
Too cool!

""Belgian artist Isabelle de Borchgrave is a painter by training, but textile and costume are her muses. Working in collaboration with leading costume historians and young fashion designers, de Borchgrave crafts a world of splendor from the simplest rag paper. Painting and manipulating the paper, she forms trompe l’oeil masterpieces of elaborate dresses inspired by rich depictions in early European painting or by iconic costumes in museum collections around the world. The Legion of Honor is the first American museum to dedicate an entire exhibition to the work of Isabelle de Borchgrave, although her creations have been widely displayed in Europe.""

swordmage: (chenrezig)
So, the house is quiet and life is good.

My mother was here for the last week - she left Saturday - and that was rather spiffy. She cleaned large parts of the house, and for that, I am *certainly* grateful. My little sister left today as well, and so now things are completely quiet.

I actually rather like this, because while it's fun to have family, it's also good to not have to think about much beyond being able to relax.


Other than that, the weekend was very good, and the week itself has started off passably well (at least after the annoyance of getting blood drawn for lab work - we learned I *may* pass out). Seeing two very good (and deserving) people get offered Pelicans made me smile. Not to mention I actually thought I looked decent. I had a grand time, and have certainly got some decent photos.

And yesterday, two people I consider good friends welcomed their son, which is more than a little bit awesome. They'll be great parents, I think.


And now, I get to sit and look at my to-do list, and plan how I would like to attack it. I've actually been good, and am trying to get everything finished when it's due. For now, I think I need to make coffee and then wander off towards work.

Question

Mar. 16th, 2011 08:07 am
swordmage: (Default)

For the Tucson lot:

Chiropractor recommendations? Anyone have good ones?

Posted via LiveJournal.app.

Heeeee!

Mar. 5th, 2011 08:37 pm
swordmage: (Default)

I think part of my life is complete now...

Posted via LiveJournal.app.

swordmage: (Default)
So, the war crud seems to have finally hit me.

This does not please me in the least, for a variety of reasons. Took today off, and ended up spending it curled up in bed drifting in and out of sleep and generally relaxing. I don't think I feel *too* much better at the moment, but hopefully plying my body with appropriate things will help.

At least it better, damn it.
swordmage: (devious willa)
So, Estrella was *quite* enjoyable. Due to work, I went up on Thursday morning, and due to a combination of weather and sick boy, we came home today. The only annoyance of the whole thing is that when our dining tent went down, my horse plate was broken.

At least I've got the pieces and will be speaking with Aasni when I get the chance about a replacement.

I'll be going back to site tomorrow for Jakob's pelican ceremony, as well as to get a few things we left behind.


Now, though, we get to think about the things that are occurring in the future. Have investiture for a start, and clothing I want to make for that. There's also the ever-present finishing of clothing that is partially done, as well as cleaning the house, school-work, and all that type of stuff.

In addition, have decided that enough is enough and it's high time that I started getting (back?) into shape. I feel like shite, and it would more than likely be to my advantage to get a bit more healthy.

And now, it's 11:30, and I think my bed is calling.
swordmage: (:P)
People, if you're going to screw with the fangirls, this is how to do it.


I am more than a little pleased, here.

Profile

swordmage: (Default)
Willa

April 2014

S M T W T F S
  12345
67891011 12
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 08:12 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios